SAA/RCM Certification(AUS)
HOME > Product Certification > SAA/RCM Certification(AUS)

Currently, Australia and New Zealand are introducing the RCM logo to achieve a uniform logo for electrical products, which is a trademark owned by regulators in Australia and New Zealand, indicating that the products comply with both safety regulations and EMC requirements and are not mandatory. SAA certification and c-tick certification will be phased out and replaced with RCM certification, which covers safety regulations and EMC.  Countries where RCM certification applies: Australia nauru, Fiji, Solomon islands, Kiribati, federated states of Micronesia, tuvalu, New Zealand, tonga, Marshall islands, vanu, Papua New Guinea, Samoa.


1.     RCM Certification

  RCM= Safety + EMC + Importer Declaration

1Safety (Product Safety Certification):

Product safety certification consists of two parts: electrical products are divided into Prescribed Product and Non-prescribed product


1). Controlled electrical products are classified according to AS/NZS 4417.2, include electric heating equipment, refrigeration equipment, power tools, and parts. Three of the Issuing authority: Queensland, New South Wales and Victoria, are the most active in the certification process. Controlled electrical appliances must obtain a Certificate of Approval issued by the monitoring department, and specify the identification (must be marked with a certificate number). The first letter of the certificate number indicates which state or region the certificate was issued from. Such as:
   (a)Q04051(Queensland ) --- Q Number
   (b)W2015(Western Australia ) --- W Number
   (c)V03101(Victoria) --- ESV Certificate V Number
   (d)NSW18099(New South Wales)--- DOFT Certificate NSW Number


2). Non-regulated electrical appliances can be sold without certification, but the manufacturer must ensure that the electrical safety of the product complies with the Australian Standard AS/NZS3820:1998 (Essential Safety Requirements for Low Voltage Electrical Equipment). The monitoring department will issue a certificate of conformity for products that meet the requirements of the standard.

The electrical product that has obtained the certificate of conformity can be marked with a certificate number. The last letter of the certificate indicates which state or region the certificate was issued, such as:

(a) CS/431/Q (Queensland)

(b) CS/108/NSW (New South Wales)

(2)EMC (Electromagnetic Compatibility):

Australia's electromagnetic compatibility compliance program is based on the 1992 Radio Communications Act (Radio Communications ACT 1992). It covers a wide range of products, includes electric motor driver and heating electrical products, electric tools and similar products, light and similar equipment, television receivers and audio equipment, information technology products, industrial science and medical equipment, ignition engines and arc welding equipment, etc. The program classifies products into three categories based on the degree of risk of electromagnetic interference from the product. The second and third categories must be accompanied by the C-Tick mark. However, no matter which category the product belongs to, it must meet the relevant EMC standards.
  Class I products: Products with only slight influence on devices using wireless spectrum, such as manual switches, simple relays, brushless squirrel cage induction motors, ac power/power transformer, resistances, etc. This kind of product can apply for C-Tick mark voluntarily when producing and selling.

Class II products: Products that have a greater impact on devices that use wireless spectrum, such as microprocessors or digital devices with clocks, rectifiers or slip ring motors, arc welding equipment, switching power supplies, photometric regulators, and motor speed controllers, Telecommunications terminal equipment in the category of information technology (CISPR 22) (from the third category to the second category since November 7, 2003).

Class III products: Products that have a serious impact on devices that use the wireless spectrum, such as Group 2 (CISPR11) for industrial , scientific, and medical equipment.


2.  Information required for SAA certification

       1) SAA Certification Application Form

       2) Product specification

       3) Product marking

       4) Provide a valid test report (CB report or Australian test report)



Add.:Room703、705/7F, Development Building, Tian An Hi-Teck Ecological Park, No.555 North Road Panyu Avenue, Panyu District, Guangzhou City, 511400, China 
Tel.:020 - 39211670   Fax:020 - 39211640